The Hong Kong Arts Development Awards 2014 Presentation Ceremony, organised by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council (ADC) and co-presented by Television Division of Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK), was held yesterday (24 April) at the Grand Theatre of the Hong Kong Cultural Centre.

A total of 28 awards were presented to local artists, arts organisations, schools and institutions in recognition of their unstinting support and contribution to the arts development in Hong Kong. Among the various awards, the Life Achievement Award, the highest accolade, was bestowed on Prof Liu Yichang, renowned writer, while the Award for Outstanding Contribution in Arts went to renowned film director, Mr Tsui Hark.

The ceremony was officiated by The Hon C Y Leung, Chief Executive of the HKSAR; Mr Tsang Tak-sing, Secretary for Home Affairs; Dr Wong Ying-wai, Wilfred, Chairman of the ADC and Vice-chairman Ms Yan Hau-yee, Lina.

Speaking at the ceremony, Dr Wong Ying-wai, Wilfred, Chairman of the ADC, said each award presented at the ceremony represents the effort and achievement of awardees as well as the society's recognition and support towards arts. This year marks the 20th anniversary of the ADC. The ADC will continue to support local small-to-medium sized arts groups and artists through a variety of funding schemes as well as to explore overseas exchange opportunities and local arts spaces to foster the arts development of Hong Kong.

Six award categories of the Hong Kong Arts Development Awards 2014 were presented, including the Life Achievement Award, the Award for Outstanding Contribution in Arts, Artist of the Year, the Award for Young Artist, the Award for Arts Education and the Award for Arts Promotion.

Among the awardees list, the Life Achievement Award was conferred on arts master with continued and significant contribution to the arts scene in Hong Kong. Prof Liu Yichang, the recipient of the Life Achievement Award this year, has published more than 40 literary works including The Drunkard, regarded as the first-ever piece of domestic modern fiction to depict the realities of Hong Kong, the parallel narrative of Dui Dao, modern reinterpretations of classic stories Si Nei, etc. He has created a body of fiction that is as diverse as it is distinguished by literary modernism. His works have been translated into different languages, and his far-reaching impact also extends to the cinema and television adaptations of his fiction.

Film director Mr Tsui Hark, the recipient of this year's Award for Outstanding Contribution in Arts, has directed and executively produced more than 40 films including Once Upon a Time in China, The Legend of Zu, Detective Dee and the Mystery of the Phantom Flame, etc. since 1970s. He is worthy of every recognition for always exploring new movie genres and introducing state-of-the-art technologies to the local film industry. His contribution to the development of the industry is significant. Mr Tsui was not able to join the ceremony. Ms Charlie Young, renowned film actress has received the award on his behalf.

Prominent names were invited to be the award presenters, which included (list in no particular order):
  • The Hon Ma Fung-kwok, Legislative Councillor (Sports, Performing Arts, Culture and Publication)
  • Mr Tai Keen-man, Deputy Director of Broadcasting (Programmes)
  • Mr Yuen Siu-fai, Vice-chairman of the Chinese Artists Association of Hong Kong
  • Ms Barbara Fei, renowned soprano
  • Ms Helen Lai, renowned choreographer
  • Dr Ng Mei-kwan, arts critic and literary arts practitioner
  • Dr Hector Rodriguez, Associate Professor, School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong
  • Mr Ng See-yuen, film veteran
  • Mr Chan Ka-seung, Gordon, renowned film director
  • Ms Chan Kit-ling, Elisa, renowned artist
  • Mr Wong Chau-sang, Anthony, renowned actor

  • Among the awardees list, Artist of the Year went to Dr Chan Chi-tak (Arts Criticism), Mr Ong Yong-lock (Dance), Ms Yan Wing-pui, Olivia (Drama), Mr Lam Chiu-yin, Dante (Film), Ms Wong Bik-wan (Literary Arts), Dr Cédric Maridet (Media Arts), Mr Leung Kin-fung (Music), Dr Leung Mee-ping (Visual Arts) and Mr Ko Yun-hung (Xiqu).

    The Award for Young Artist went to Mr Tam Yee-lok (Arts Criticism), Mr Wong Tan-ki (Dance), Ms Rosa Maria Velasco (Drama), Mr Chow Kwun-wai (Film), Mr Chow Hon-fai (Literary Arts), Mr Wong Chi-chuen, Kenny (Media Arts), Ms Kwong Lai-ling, Louise (Music), Mr Nadim Abbas (Visual Arts) and Ms Wong Kit-fong, Janet (Xiqu), while the Award for Arts Promotion went to Arts with the Disabled Association Hong Kong and School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong. For detailed listing, please refer to the enclosure.

    To enlighten the ceremony, an array of performances was staged:
    • Collide, an opening performance by multimedia musician Choi Sai-ho and dancers with a unique blend of electronic music and multimedia images combined with dance and choreographed movements.
    • Singer-songwriter Hins Cheung and drama actress Rosa Maria Velasco paid tribute to Prof Liu Yichang, the recipient of the Life Achievement Award, with a special duet, interweaving literature, drama and the song Youth Forever.
    • Renowned Cantonese opera musician, Ko Yun-hung led the Hong Kong Xiqu Band to perform The Little Red Peach.

    Hong Kong Arts Development Awards 2014 - Awardees List

    Life Achievement AwardLiu Yichang
    Award for Outstanding Contribution in ArtsTsui Hark
    Artist of the YearArts CriticismChan Chi-tak
    DanceOng Yong-lock
    DramaYan Wing-pui, Olivia
    FilmLam Chiu-yin, Dante
    Literary ArtsWong Bik-wan
    Media ArtsCédric Maridet
    MusicLeung Kin-fung
    Visual ArtsLeung Mee-ping
    XiquKo Yun-hung
    Award for Young ArtistArts CriticismTam Yee-lok
    DanceWong Tan-ki
    DramaRosa Maria Velasco
    FilmChow Kwun-wai
    Literary ArtsChow Hon-fai
    Media ArtsWong Chi-chuen, Kenny
    MusicKwong Lai-ling, Louise
    Visual ArtsNadim Abbas
    XiquWong Kit-fong, Janet
    Award for Arts Education
    (School Division)
    Hong Kong Baptist University Affiliated School
    Wong Kam Fai Secondary & Primary School (Secondary)
    (Awarded Project: Green is Art, From Collection, Reuse to Community Arts Project)

    Lam Tai Fai College
    (Awarded Project: "Pegasus" Art Education Scheme)

    Tung Wah Group of Hospitals Kindergartens
    (Awarded Project: Integrated Creative Arts Programme for Children - "Joyful Learning through Arts")
    Award for Arts Education
    (Non-School Division)
    The Absolutely Fabulous Theatre Connection
    (Awarded Project: Bravo! Hong Kong Youth Theatre Awards 2013-14)

    (Awarded Project: 18×24 Photo Adventure in Hong Kong)

    Tang Yat-shing
    (Awarded Project: Skyhigh Creative Partners A Jockey Club Initiative for Innovative Minds – Animation Training Program 2013/14)
    Award for Arts PromotionArts with the Disabled Association Hong Kong
    (Awarded Project: Jockey Club Arts Accessibility Scheme (JCAAS))

    School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong
    (Awarded Project: CityU 2014 – Year of Art & Culture)